Faster UK border entry for Namibia and 14 new countries


Business travellers and frequent visitors from 40 countries can now benefit from faster entry to the UK following the expansion of the Government’s Registered Traveller Service.

From 5 October, frequent travellers to the UK from 15 new countries are eligible to apply for membership of the service, which brings the potential for improved trade and tourism links.

The new countries to be covered by the service are Andorra, Bahamas, Botswana, Holy See (Vatican City), Macao, Maldives, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Seychelles, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Tonga and Trinidad & Tobago.

They join countries such as the United States, Australia, Canada and Japan who are already benefitting from the service.

Last month, the service – which had previously only been open to adults – was also expanded to the 0-17 year old dependants of members, which enables families’ to access the benefits of the service in order to travel more easily together.

Immigration Minister Brandon Lewis said: “Registered Traveller is one of the many ways in which the Government is making it easier for businesses across the world to do business with the UK.

“With over 81,000 members signed up to the service already, I look forward to watching the service grow in the future.”

Registered Traveller allows approved members, who have undergone advanced security checks, faster entry at the UK border through access to the ePassport gates (if a holder of an ePassport) or the UK/EU passport lane.

To be eligible to apply, passengers must hold an eligible passport and have a visa or have visited the UK at least four times in the past two years.

The Registered Traveller Service is currently open to eligible entry clearance holders and frequent travellers who have visited the UK at least four times in the last two years from Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Belize, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Holy See (Vatican City), Honduras, Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region only), Israel, Japan, Macao (Special Administrative Region of China), Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, South Korea, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Taiwan, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay and the USA.

Most immigration categories are eligible to join the service including the majority of entry clearance holders. Visitors are also eligible if they can demonstrate they have entered the UK a minimum of four times in the previous two years.

Applicants apply online. An application costs £70. This includes a non-refundable fee of £20 for considering the application and a £50 annual membership fee that will be refunded if an application is unsuccessful. There is a £50 charge to renew membership for a further 12 months.

Kindly follow us on twitter:@AfricanVoice2